Global Partnership on AI

News Excerpt: 

The Global Partnership on AI, has unanimously adopted the New Delhi Declaration pledging their commitment to a collaborative approach for AI applications.

About Global Partnership on Artificial Intelligence (GPAI):

  • The GPAI is an alliance of 29 member countries, established in June 2020.
  • The GPAI is an attempt including India, largely led by the democratic world, to adopt a global risk-based approach to AI. 
  • Today, GPAI's 29 members are Australia, Argentina, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, Czech Republic, Denmark, France, Germany, India, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Mexico, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Poland, the Republic of Korea, Singapore, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Senegal, Serbia, Turkey, the United Kingdom, the United States and the European Union.
    • China, a major tech superpower, is not part of the multilateral grouping.
  • The GPAI, pronounced as "gee-pay," is an international and diverse body that unites prominent experts from fields including science, industry, civil society, international organisations, and national governments who share a common commitment. 
  • GPAI endeavours to bridge the gap between theoretical understanding and practical implementation of AI by endorsing cutting-edge research and applied endeavours in AI-related priorities.
  • GPAI structures its working groups around four core themes: 
    • Responsible AI, 
    • Data Governance, 
    • Future of Work,
    • Innovation and Commercialization.

New Delhi declaration by GPAI:

  • This summit aims to finalise a comprehensive framework that encompasses shared principles for Safe and Trusted AI.
  • Flagged Concerns: The declaration flagged concerns emanating from such systems including misinformation, unemployment, lack of transparency and fairness, protection of intellectual property and personal data, and threats to human rights and democratic values.
  • Win for India: This is a significant win for India, which will push its model of Digital Public Infrastructure (DPI) across the world. Besides, access to computing capabilities from member nations will also boost New Delhi’s plans of building a sovereign AI system,
  • Available to all countries: The declaration seeks to ensure that AI and its benefits are inclusive and available to all the countries of the world, including the Global South.
  • Agriculture Sector: GPAI members also agreed to support AI innovation in the agriculture sector as a new “thematic priority”. India was pushing for the inclusion of agriculture as a priority sector in AI innovation. 
  • There is a  need to mitigate risks arising from the development and deployment of AI systems and promote equitable access to critical resources for AI innovation including computing and high-quality diverse datasets.


Multiple conversations taking place across the world on AI, including the G7 Hiroshima Declaration, Bletchley Declaration, and GPAI, will contribute to the global discussions on how the framework of AI evolves in the coming months.

Book A Free Counseling Session