Committees of the Constituent Assembly

Committees of the Constituent Assembly

To handle various facets of the constitution-making process, the Indian Constituent Assembly established a number of committees.

Committees of the Constituent Assembly

To handle various facets of the constitution-making process, the Indian Constituent Assembly established a number of committees. The Indian Constituent Assembly chose twenty-two committees to examine various constitutional issues. The other eight were smaller committees. Eight of them were significant committees.     


What does India's Constituent Assembly do?

The Constituent Assembly was a sovereign body established to assist in the constitution-making process for the newly independent India. It is known as the first Parliament of an Independent India. The task of establishing the nation's Constituent Assembly fell under the purview of the Cabinet Mission Plan.

The Cabinet Mission Plan abolished the current system of universal adult franchise voting. However, it instead advocated having the recently elected provincial assemblies choose the members of the various constituent assembly committees. 

To elect the individuals who would make up the various committees of the constituent assembly, members of the provincial assembly used their single, transferable vote. 


Committees of the Constituent Assembly - Historical Background

  • The Indian Constitution was created by the Constituent Assembly, which was established in 1946 under the cabinet mission plan. After India gained independence in 1947, the Constituent Assembly was formally established as a fully independent legislature. 
  • The Constituent Assembly established numerous committees to draft the Indian constitution.


The drafting committee was one of 22 committees the Constituent Assembly set up to draft the constitution.

  • The main committees established are the Advisory Committee on Tribal Areas, the Financial Relations Committee, the Union Power Committee on Fundamental and Minority Rights, and the Provincial Commissioners Committee. 
  • A drafting committee was established under the leadership of Dr B.R. Ambedkar, who at the time was an official representative of the Indian government, based on the committees' reports that were accepted. 
  • It was the responsibility of the drafting committee to establish the legal framework for including the decision in the reports of the other committees.


What do the Constituent Assembly Committees do?

For the time being, an Independent India Constituent Assembly established various Committees to examine the various departments involved in constitution-making.

The constituent assembly had 22 committees in total. Only eight of them—the minor and supporting committees—were among the most significant. 

Ten committees handled procedures. Twelve committees handled substantive matters. 

The Drafting Committee is undoubtedly very significant in the history of Indian politics because of its crucial role in drafting a constitution.  

Major Committees


Union Power Committee

Jawaharlal Nehru

Union Constitution Committee

Jawaharlal Nehru

Provincial Constitution Committee 

Sardar Patel 

Drafting Committee

Dr. B.R. Ambedkar

Advisory Committee on Fundamental Rights, Minorities and Tribal and Excluded Areas 

Sardar Patel

This committee had the following subcommittees:

Fundamental Rights Sub-Committee

J. B. Kripalani

Minorities Sub-Committee

Harendra Coomar Mookerjee,

North-East Frontier Tribal Areas and Assam Excluded & Partially Excluded Areas Sub-Committee

Gopinath Bordoloi

Excluded and Partially Excluded Areas (Apart from those in Assam) Sub-Committee

  A V Thakkar

Rules of Procedure Committee

Rajendra Prasad

States Committee (Committee for negotiating with states)

Jawaharlal Nehru

Steering Committee

Rajendra Prasad

Ad Hoc Committee on the National Flag

Rajendra Prasad

Committee for the function of the Constitution Assembly

G V Mavlankar

House Committee

B Pattabhi Sitaramayya

Language Committee

Moturi Satyanarayana

Order of Business Committee

K M Munshi

Minor Committees


Committee on the Functions of the Constituent Assembly.

G.V. Mavalankar

Committee for the Order of Business

Dr K.M. Munshi

House Committee.

B. Pattabhi Sitaramayya

Ad-hoc Committee on the National Flag

Rajendra Prasad

Special Committee to Examine the Draft Constitution.

Jawaharlal Nehru

Credentials Committee

Alladi Krishnaswamy Ayyar

finance and staff committee.

Dr Rajendra Prasad

Committee for the Press Gallery

Usha Nath Sen

Committee on Chief Commissioners' Provinces

B. Pattabhi Sitaramayya

Commission on Linguistic Provinces

S.K. Dar serve

Expert Committee on Financial Provisions.

Nalini Ranjan Sarkar

Ad-hoc Committee on the Supreme Court.

S. Varadachari

Ad-hoc Committee on Citizenship

S. Varadachari

Book A Free Counseling Session

What's Today