The United Nation (UN) General Assembly elected China, the United States, the United Kingdom among other

countries to the UN Human Rights Council for a three-year term of office starting from January 1, 2017. The other elected members are Tunisia, South Africa, Rwanda, Japan, Iraq, Saudi Arabia, Hungary, Croatia, Cuba, Brazil.

  1. The Human Rights Council is the main UN intergovernmental body responsible for promoting and protecting all human rights and fundamental freedom.
  2. It was established by the General Assembly in 2006 to replace the 60-year-old UN Commission on Human Rights.
  3. The UN council addresses human rights violations and makes corresponding recommendations. It responds to human rights emergencies, works to prevent abuses.
  4. The council's 47 members are elected individually through secret ballot, by the majority of the 193 members of the General Assembly. They serve for a three-year renewable term and cannot seek immediate re-election after two consecutive terms.
  5. The council membership is based on equitable geographical distribution.
  6. Thirteen seats each are devoted to the Group of African States and the Group of Asia-Pacific States, eight to the Group of Latin American and Caribbean States, seven to the Group of Western European and other States and six to the Group of Eastern European States.