GS Paper - 2 (International Relations)

Seventeen states were elected into the UN Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC), the coordinating body for the economic and social work of UN agencies and funds, for a three-year term. The states were elected by secret ballot with a two-thirds majority of the member states present and voting in the UN General Assembly.


  1. Elected were Botswana, Cape Verde, Cameroon, Equatorial Guinea from African states; China, Laos, Qatar, South Korea from Asia-Pacific states; Brazil, Colombia, Costa Rica from Latin America and Caribbean states; Denmark, Greece, New Zealand, Sweden from Western European and other states; Slovakia and Slovenia from Eastern European states. They were elected for a three-year term beginning 1 January 2023.
  2. Of the 17 states, Botswana, China, Colombia, Denmark, Greece, New Zealand and South Korea were re-elected.
  3. In a by-election for rotation within the Western European and other states group, Liechtenstein was elected for a one-year term beginning 1 January 2023. It will replace Austria.
  4. ECOSOC has 54 members, which are elected each year by the General Assembly for overlapping three-year terms.
  5. Seats on the council are allocated on the basis of geographical representation with 14 seats to African states, 11 to Asia-Pacific states, six to Eastern European states, 10 to Latin American and Caribbean states, and 13 to Western Europe and other states.