GS Paper - 1 (Culture)

Author Geetanjali Shree’s translated Hindi novel, Tomb of Sand, became the first Indian language book to win the International Booker Prize on 27 May 2022. The 2018 novel titled ‘Ret Samadhi’ was translated by Daisy Rockwell and published as ‘Tomb of Sand’ in 2021.

What is the Booker Prize?

  1. The Booker Prize is one of the best-known literary awards for fiction writing in English, including both novels and collections of short stories. It was first awarded in 1969.
  2. Every year a panel of judges decides the best work of the year, with the criteria being that it must be written in English and published in the UK and Ireland.
  3. This panel of judges is picked from among eminent cultural historians, writers, professors, and novelists, and others from related fields. The panel this year had five judges.

What about the International Booker Prize?

  1. The International Booker Prize began in 2005. A biennial prize initially, it was then awarded for a body of work available in English, including translations, with Alice Munro, Lydia Davis and Philip Roth becoming some of the early winners.
  2. In 2015, the rules of the International prize changed to make it an annual affair. The new rules stipulated that it will be awarded annually for a single book, written in another language and translated into English.
  3. The £50,000 prize money is divided equally between the author and translator each year.