GS Paper - 2 (International Relations)

The UN General Assembly said that Iran, Guinea and Vanuatu had paid sufficient back dues to the United Nations' regular operating budget to regain their voting rights in the 193-member world body. That leaves only two countries -- Venezuela and Papua New Guinea -- without the right to vote in the General Assembly.


  1. The UN Charter states that members whose arrears equal or exceed the amount of their contributions for the preceding two full years lose their voting rights.
  2. But it also gives the General Assembly the authority to decide "that the failure to pay is due to conditions beyond the control of the member" and in that case, a country can continue to vote.
  3. Three of those countries -- Sudan, Antigua and Barbuda, and Republic of Congo -- paid enough of their owed dues last week to regain their right to vote.
  4. The General Assembly decided that three African countries on the list of nations in arrears -- Comoros, Sao Tome, and Principe and Somalia -- would be able to keep their voting rights.

India in UN budget for 2022

  1. India has paid USD 29.9 million in UN regular budget assessments for the year 2022.
  2. India joins the 2022 Honour Roll of 24 Member States out of 193 that have paid their UN Regular Budget Assessments in full.
  3. As of 21 January 2022, 24 Member States have paid their regular budget assessments in full.
  4. India is currently a non-permanent member of the 15-nation Security Council and its two-year term will end on 31 December 2022.