India was re-elected to the United Nations Human Rights Council (UNHRC) for the 2022-24 for a 6th term on 14 October 2021 and vowed to continue to work for the promotion and protection of human rights through “Samman, Samvad and Sahyog".


  1. The UN General Assembly elected by secret ballot Argentina, Benin, Cameroon, Eritrea, Finland, Gambia, Honduras, India, Kazakhstan, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Montenegro, Paraguay, Qatar, Somalia, UAE and the USA.
  2. The US joined the cohort more than three years after the Trump administration quit the 47-member body over what it called chronic bias against Israel and a lack of reform.
  3. China and some of its allies including Belarus and Venezuela have taken advantage of the US absence from the council to push through joint statements supporting Beijing's actions in Hong Kong, Xinjiang and Tibet, and denouncing "human rights violations" in Western countries, including against indigenous Canadians.
  4. In the 14 October 2021 vote, non-governmental organizations accused regional groups of stitching up a "legitimizing facade" rather than a genuine contest at the council, by presenting the same number of candidates as vacant seats.
  5. The council is made up of 47 member states. For years, the body has been criticized for allowing authoritarian governments to take part.
  6. Human Rights Council candidates are elected in geographical groups to ensure even representation.
  7. There were no competitive races on 14 October 2021 to elect 13 new members and re-elect five members. Members cannot serve more than two consecutive terms.