Scientists James Peebles, Michel Mayor and Didier Queloz won the 2019 Nobel Prize for Physics for ground-breaking work in astronomy, the award-giving body said on 8 October 2019. Peebles was awarded half the prize while Mayor and Queloz shared the other half. This year's Laureates have transformed our ideas about the cosmos, the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences said on awarding the 9 million Swedish crown ($910,000) prize.
  1. James Peebles' theoretical discoveries contributed to our understanding of how the universe evolved after the Big Bang, Michel Mayor and Didier Queloz explored our cosmic neighbourhoods on the hunt for unknown planets. Their discoveries have forever changed our conceptions of the world.
  2. Canadian-American cosmologist James Peebles and Swiss astronomers Michel Mayor and Didier Queloz won the Nobel Physics Prize for research increasing our understanding of our place in the universe. 
  3. Peebles is Albert Einstein Professor of Science at Princeton University in the United States, while Mayor and Queloz are both professors at the University of Geneva
  4. In 1995, astrophysicist Michel Mayor and astronomer Didier Queloz discovered the first exoplanet -- a planet outside our solar system -- orbiting a solar-type star, 51 Pegasi. Reacting to their win, the two scientists said it was "simply extraordinary".
  5. The 2019 prize rewards "new understanding of the universe's structure and history, and the first discovery of a planet orbiting a solar-type star outside our solar system. The discoveries have forever changed our conceptions of the world.
  6. The trio will receive the prize from King Carl XVI Gustaf at a formal ceremony in Stockholm on December 10, the anniversary of the 1896 death of scientist Alfred Nobel who created the prizes in his last will and testament. 
  7. In 2018, the honour went to Arthur Ashkin of the US, Gerard Mourou of France and Donna Strickland of the US for laser inventions used for advanced precision instruments in corrective eye surgery and in industry.
  8. After Marie Curie in 1903 and German-American scientist Maria Goeppert-Mayer in 1963, Strickland became just the third woman to be awarded the Physics Prize since 1901.