e-Raksha competition has been launched by National Council of Education Research and Training (NCERT) in partnership with Cyber Peace Foundation and United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organisations (UNESCO)

Tha aim of e-Raksha 2020

  • To provide a platform to netizens to share tips and strategies on how to be safe and responsible netizens.
  • How to address fake news and misinformation.

Competition is divided into 3 categories for

  1. School students above the age of 10
  2. College students above the age of 17
  3. Parents, teachers and guardians.

Several competitions which are under E-Raksha are ARTCADE, Tech Avishakar to Word Hack and Screen Masters

  • Artcade: Students can choose topics related to bullying, phishing, malware etc. They will have to send in drawings, paintings, comics, memes, stickers, and even comic strips depicting what online safety means to them.
  • Tech Avishkar: Participants can create software, hardware, or firmware on the theme ‘digital citizenship and online safety’. The innovation must address a problem faced in cyberspace.
  • Word Hack or writing competition: The theme for writing will be ‘digital citizenship and online safety’.
  • ‘Screen masters’ programme: Students and teachers would need to do documentaries and interview with a string message aligning with the theme. The project could be in Hindi or in English.
  • Cyber Peace Honours award: Winners will be conferred with prizes.

Additional Information


  1. The Government of India established the National Council for Educational Research and Training (NCERT) which is an autonomous body in 1961 to assist and advise the Central and State Governments on policies and programs for the qualitative improvement of school education.
  2. The principal aspects of NCERT and its constituent units are: conducting, supporting and organizing work in school-related areas; preparing and publishing model textbooks, supplementary materials, newsletters, and journals, and designing instructional packages, digital multimedia resources, etc.


United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO)  

  1. The United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) established in 16 November 1945. Headquartered in Paris.
  2. UNESCO has 195 Members and 8 Associate Members and is governed by the General Conference and the Executive Board.  
  3. UNESCO's mission is to contribute through education, science, culture, cooperation and information to the creation of a culture of peace, the eradication of poverty, sustainable development and intercultural dialogue.
  4. UNESCO is working to build the conditions for dialog between civilizations, cultures, and people, based on respect for shared values in general.