What is the structure and organization of the Indian Forest Service?

On successful completion of the professional training in forestry and allied subjects at Indira Gandhi National Forest Academy, Dehradun, Foundation Course at Lal Bahadur Shastri National Academy of Administration, Mussoorie, one year "on the job" training in the Cadre to which the IFS probationers are allotted, and on successful completion of probation period on completion of four years of service with reference to the Year of Allotment, the officers are appointed to the Senior Time Scale. On getting the Senior Time Scale the officers are entitled to be posted as Divisional Forest Officers or Deputy Conservators of Forests in charge of Forest Divisions. The administrative hierarchy of Indian Forest Service in the Forest Departments in the States and Union Territories is as under in the descending order:-


Principal Chief Conservator of Forests

Additional Principal Chief Conservator of Forests

Chief Conservator of Forests

Conservator of Forests

Deputy Conservator of Forests


The Service consists of 26 State Cadres including Arunachal Pradesh-Goa-Mizoram and Union Territories (AGMUT). Every State/Joint cadre has a fixed strength of posts in various grades known as Senior Duty Posts (SDP). In respect of the IFS officers working under the administrative control of the States, the State Governments are notified as the Cadre Authorities.

As per the Allocation of Business Rules of the GoI, the subject of the Indian Forest Service is allocated to the Ministry of Environment and Forests and thus it is the Cadre Controlling Authority for the Indian Forest Service and also the Nodal Ministry and implements all Rules, Regulations made under the AIS Act in respect of the Indian Forest Service.